Friday, August 3, 2012

Facebook Groups Now Show Who Has Seen Each Post

Facebook has updated Facebook groups and implemented a feature that we've seen for Facebook Messages and Chat. 
Now anyone in a Facebook group can view who and at what time a member has seen a post.


Below each post within a group will be a check mark followed by the number of people who have seen the post. Hovering over or clicking on that note will present a list of group members who saw the post and when. After all users in the group have seen the post, the post will say “seen by everyone.” The feature is available on desktop and mobile versions of groups. Although it hasn’t gone live for all users and is yet in the rolling phase.

Facebook Groups Showing Who has seen a post.



This Feature may seen useful for smaller groups, but when applied to larger groups, some users might be uncomfortable with this because they feel it reveals too much about their activity on the site. Overall, the feature is useful for groups of people who are collaborating on a project, scheduling plans or sharing other important updates. Facebook provides the example of a soccer team using groups and the new “seen” feature to make sure everyone knows about what time practice starts.

Facebook didn’t provide details about what it means for a post to be “seen,” and whether it involves a user visiting the group page or having the story load in News Feed. The Help Center tells users to ”keep in mind that if people see a group post or message, it doesn’t always mean they had the chance to read it carefully.”

Other social networks including LinkedIn and Path already offer features that notify users about who viewed your profile or content. On LinkedIn and Path, visitors to your profile can be viewed. Path on the other hand also offers users a feature to see who has “read” or scrolled through your content. While it’s a feature that could offer analytics to Group members and Fan Page administrators as well as hold members accountable for their participation, a “read receipt” feature such as this may be best suited solely for productivity purposes. For non-professional uses, it just seems creepy.

Do you like this new feature or you see it as a intrusion upon privacy, post in comments.

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...